California Design, Open Late at the Auckland Art Gallery

by lei

californiadesign_togs1californiadesign_deskcaliforniadesign_shelf californiadesign_table2californiadesign_tigers californiadesignpolaroid

On Tuesday, I went along to the first of three Open Late events the Auckland Art Gallery is running for the exhibition ‘California Design, 1930-1965: Living in a Modern Way‘. It’s the first major study of California mid-century design, and the exhibits range from furniture, fashion, homeware and graphic design.

You’re allowed to take photos as long as you don’t use a flash, and as you can see from the pics I chose to take, I was most drawn to the furniture and fashion. And by that I mean, I just wanted it all in my home. I kept forgetting that this was an art exhibit, and made a mental shopping list of everything I wanted to buy, clothes included – it’s crazy how much of the fashion would totally work today. I think a lot of people went home that night inspired to re-decorate their homes. My favourite part was the different styles of fashion, swimsuits, day-dresses, and matching pant & crop-tops, hanging together mid-air, but other fun things like retro game-boards, the original Barbie and Ken dolls (!!) the polaroid camera and an early design of the Oscar statuette are also highlights. I took way more photos, but I didn’t want to ruin it for you and take away all element of surprise, so it’s best you head along yourself for a look 🙂

The next Open Late event is on the 20th of August, with Kate Sylvester as the special guest speaker, and a live performance by Sal Valentine & The Babyshakes. Check out the Auckland Art Gallery or EventFinda for more info.

 

